Robert A.



Chamber Concerto #3: Time Fields

2004 | ca. 17 min.
1 1 2 1 – 1 1 1 0 – Perc. – Piano – String Quartet & D.B.

[] Honourable Mention in Free Style Competition 2010, London, England
f.p. 8 Apr./04, Montréal, Canada. Contemporary Music Ensemble, McGill University, J. Lavoie (cond.)


Programme Notes

Time Fields is the third work in a series of chamber concerti, and represents the continuation of my study of various approaches to musical time. It is a single movement work in four large sections, each functioning in what I consider to be contrasting types of musical time, dependant principally upon the particular nature of musical pulse in effect. In broad terms, I define the first three as: static, obscure, and clear, accounting for a spectrum of musical pulse from no perceivable pulse, through irregular, to regular and distinct. The fourth type, a species of the obscure, I refer to as temporal counterpoint, which is music containing the simultaneous presentation of multiple pulses. It is through the alternation between these four types of musical time that the large-scale structure of the work can be conceptualised.

An alternate conception of the form is also possible when considering the work’s orchestration. Time Fields can appear as a quasi-concerto for string quartet and ensemble. The role of the string quartet is at first antiphonal with the rest of the ensemble; however, gradually the string quartet increasingly participates as individual ensemble members, and contributes to the collective climax at approximately three-quarters through the piece. Thus the original distinction between quartet and ensemble disappears, and a shift from antiphony to a more unified single chamber orchestral texture can be heard.